Here it is! I’m thrilled to announce my upcoming run of Orfeo ed Euridice, by C. W. von Gluck, which will be my first co-production with my friend and colleague Susan Bywaters, under our collaborative name, “Gli Spiritosi.” I hope to see you at a performance!

This opera tells the story of the musician and poet Orpheus, who with the aid of the God of Love journeys through hell and heaven in an attempt to return his bride, Eurydice, to life. In the classic Greek myth, Orpheus loses his beloved. Our production ranges from triumphal to melancholic to comic, but how it ends… You’ll have to attend to discover!

Date and time:
Friday, July 26th and Saturday, July 27th, 7:30 p.m.
The Chapel, Grace House, 218 West 108th St.

*NEW: July 29th (Monday) at 7:30 p.m.
Behind the Door, 219 Court St., Brooklyn

Tickets will be $15 at the door.
The show is less than 2.5 hours long, including an intermission.
The opera will be sung in Italian, staged in the round in an intimate venue, and the singers will perform in full costume.
We’re pleased and excited to feature a quartet of soloists who fill the various roles of the chorus throughout the opera, classical dance interludes to echo the spirit of the Parisian premiere, and a brilliant chamber ensemble who have made many of their own arrangements and will lend this production a truly unique sound.

Because of the score we’re using for this production, you’ll be treated to some rarely performed arias including the coy “Se il dolce suon,” the soaring “Quest’asilo de’ placide calme,” and the sparkling “Addio, o miei sospiri.”

Many familiar tunes will be recognizable, though some are in slightly altered version. Most strikingly, both the opening and the finale of the opera will be completely different from what you’d see in a production of the classic, full orchestra version!
(But don’t be afraid of regi-theatrical conceits; we all love the music too much to distract from it.)
Hayden DeWitt as Orfeo
Susan Bywaters as Euridice
Allegra Durante as Amore

The quartet chorus:
Megan Marod, soprano
Eva Sun, mezzo-soprano
Sean Purdie, tenor
Spencer Leopold-Cohen, baritone

The chamber orchestra:
Kelly Savage, harpsichord
Vita Wallace, baroque violin
Joseph Trent, traverso